BIJ&BF Composers Ensemble

Bristol International Jazz & Blues Festival

Bristol has a thriving community of jazz musicians, many of whom also compose their own music. The BIJ&BF have put together this ten piece ensemble as a representation of this activity, although it’s really just the tip of the iceberg since there are only so many writers we can include in one concert.

Six members of the band will be contributing a movement each to a Festival Suite, which will feature some of the most exciting soloists from Bristol’s jazz scene. All of the band are nationally recognised players, with numerous festival, film, TV, radio and session credits between them.

  • Andy Hague* & Nick Malcolm* – trumpets
  • Mat Colman – trombone
  • James Gardiner-Bateman – alto sax
  • Ben Waghorn & Nick Dover* – tenor saxes
  • Kevin Figes* – baritone sax,
  • Jim Blomfield* – piano,
  • Will Harris* – bass
  • Mark Whitlam – drums.

*contributing composers

Bristol International Jazz and Blues Festival

This concert is part of the Bristol International Jazz and Blues Festival, which takes place 7-9 March 2014 at Colston Hall. For full listings please click here

Series Tickets
If you would like to book for more than one concert that is part of the festival, please click here.

Book tickets for 6 or more different Jazz & Blues Festival concerts and receive a series discount of 15%.

Book ten or more tickets for the same concert and receive a discount of 15%.

Only one concession applies at any time.

Please note that advance ticket prices will increase on the day of the event.

Were you at this show?

We'd love to hear your memories of the performance. Add your photos, reviews and memories via Twitter using the hashtags: #bristolbeacon and #show34711 and they will appear on this page

Hosted by

  • Taking place in The Lantern

  • Previous

Welcome to
Bristol Beacon

On Wednesday 23 September 2020 Colston Hall changed its name to Bristol Beacon.

Our new name is just the first step, it is about more than the sign above our door. Click below to find out more about how we’re changing, watch our name announcement, and discover how we want everyone to share in the joy of live music.

More info Enter site