Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra

Love Letters

Sparks fly as a virtuoso concerto with a soft spot for the operatic stage faces a symphony whose resolute journey from darkness to light pauses for a fervent outpouring of love.

Weber Clarinet Concerto No.1
Mahler Symphony No.5

Conductor Daniele Rustioni
Clarinet Daniel Ottensamer *

*change to originally advertised soloist.

When Mahler first saw Niagara Falls he exclaimed “fortissimo at last!”. He was something of a connoisseur of course. But an afficionado of the most delicate heart-stopping pianissimos too. A composer of extremes. Written on the cusp of the 20th century, the Symphony No. 5 opens with a hollow funereal fanfare, closes on a note of all-conquering optimism, and in the harp-gilded Adagietto sends a tender billet-doux to his new wife. First, Weber’s athletic concerto sets the scene with crystalline poise.

In just a few short years Daniele Rustioni has conquered the world’s opera houses from Covent Garden to La Scala. And with orchestras such as Rome’s Santa Cecilia and the LPO under his belt, he’s no symphonic slouch either. “Clearly another rising talent destined for big things” says The Times.

Book for 3 or more concerts and save up to 30%

See all the Bristol International Classical concerts in the series

As we are both supported using public funding from Arts Council England, Colston Hall and the Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra have agreed to share some non-sensitive customer data for marketing purposes. By opting in to receive information from Colston Hall for this event, you also agree to being contacted by the Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra.

Were you at this show?

We'd love to hear your memories of the performance. Add your photos, reviews and memories via Twitter using the hashtags: #bristolbeacon and #show156095 and they will appear on this page


Welcome to
Bristol Beacon

On Wednesday 23 September 2020 Colston Hall changed its name to Bristol Beacon.

Our new name is just the first step, it is about more than the sign above our door. Click below to find out more about how we’re changing, watch our name announcement, and discover how we want everyone to share in the joy of live music.

More info Enter site